Through the World Day of Prayer (WDP), women witnessed their faith in Christ, sharing their joy and sorrow, hope and fear, work and need. The movement also encouraged women to embrace the world, enrich their faith, pray for their families, and used their talents to serve people in society in different regions and cultures.

WDP in 2019 was hosted by Slovenia, a small country in Central Europe. Its forest coverage ranks third among European countries. It is also the first country in the world to be found with Karst region (also known as limestone topography). Among them, the Skocjan Caves were entered on UNESCO’s list of world heritage sites. The joint worship manual reflected Slovenia’s politics and economy going from social communism to a democratic parliamentary republic. Their stories are the voices of refugees, young mothers, elders, victims and Romani people (formerly known as Gypsies).  As we listened to their stories, we asked God to forgive us for remaining silent in the face of injustice, and we asked God to open our hearts to compassion and understanding.

This year’s Taipei session was held by the Taiwan Lutheran Church at the Taipei Truth Lutheran Church at 2 p.m. on Friday, February 22, with an attendance of 120.  On that day, a total of NT$54,210 was donated to Taipei Homeless Caring Centre of the Salvation Army in Taipei.  In the joint service, we were called to care for each other, to respect life and the beauty of nature, and to do our best to protect what God has created. We supported each other on the path to freedom, justice and peace with a blessed prayer.

2019世界公禱日聯合崇拜- 一起來吧,為斯洛維尼亞共和國代禱

 台灣世界公禱日籌備委員會代表

透過世界公禱日,婦女見證她們在基督裡的信仰,分享其喜樂與憂傷、盼望與恐懼、工作與需要。這個運動也鼓勵婦女去擁抱世界,在不同的地區文化中,充實信仰、為家人禱告,並運用各自的才幹在社會中服事人群。

2019年聯合崇拜的代禱國家為斯洛維尼亞共和國(Slovenia),其為位於中歐的小國,森林覆蓋程度在歐洲各國中名列第三,也是世界上第一個被發現有喀斯特地形(又稱溶蝕地形、石灰岩地形)的國家,當中「什科茲揚溶洞」被聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產。聯合崇拜手冊中反映了斯洛維尼亞從社會共產主義到民主議會制共和國的政治和經濟。他們的故事是難民、年輕媽媽、長者、受暴者和羅姆人(舊稱:吉普賽人)的聲音。在聆聽他們的故事時,求神寬恕我們在面對不公正時保持沉默,我們祈求上帝敞開心扉接受的同情和理解。

今年度台北場由台灣信義會負責,已於2月22日(週五)下午兩點於台灣信義會真理堂舉行,此次計120人參與,當日奉獻金額54,210元捐贈救世軍台北街友中心。聯合崇拜中我們蒙召彼此顧念,尊重生命,也尊重美麗的大自然,盡全力保護神所創造的一切。我們帶著祝福的祈禱,在自由、正義和和平的道路上相互支持。

女青年會全國協會張令達理事長暨朱張蓓蒂理事(後排右二)、李萍秘書長(後排右一)暨幹事,

台北分會馮敏孫會長暨蔡清徽董事(前排右二、一)、唐淑芬執行長(後排右三)、劉昭君副總幹事(前排右三)暨幹事參與此次聯合崇拜

2019公禱日海報